LMS revealed as signatory at Technician Commitment best practice event

 5 December 2019   Institute News

More than half of UK universities and several research institutes have backed a pledge to support their technicians. Today, five more signatories join the commitment. 

Through the Technician Commitment, five key areas have been identified to improve and safeguard vital technical skills in higher education and research. A steering-group of sector bodies including UKRI, Wellcome Trust and Advance HE will ensure that the commitment delivers greater visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability for technicians across all disciplines. 

Launched in May 2017 with support of the Science Council and Gatsby Foundation, the Technician Commitment was signed by a number of signatories. Today, it was announced that the number had reached 88, representing over 50% of UK universities and several world-leading institutions. 

The commitment comes at a key time as the demand for technicians is increasing. More than 1.5 million technicians currently work in the UK, which is expected to rise by around 70,000 each year. 

The impact of the commitment is already being seen, within many signatory organisations using positive action to secure success.

Kelly Vere, Higher Education Engagement Manager, Science Council and Technician Commitment Lead, said: “We’re delighted with the pace of engagement from across the sector and are pleased to be working with five new signatories to stimulate positive change for this vital community.

“It’s clear this initiative is having real impact and we look forward to continuing our work together to ensure visibility, recognition, opportunity and sustainability for technical colleagues across higher education and research.”

New signatories – backed 4 December 2019
Babraham Institute, University of Derby, University of Hull, MRC Laboratory of Medical Sciences (LMS)

Fifth round of signatories – backed 24th June 2019
Belfast Met, Brunel University London, Bucks New University, Cardiff Metropolitan University, University of Huddersfield, Middlesex University London, Sheffield Hallam University and Science & Technology Facilities Council

Fourth round of signatories – 6 November 2018
University of Bath, Coventry University, Durham University, Falmouth University, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, University of Roehampton, University of Southampton, Staffordshire University, York St John University

Third round of signatories – backed 11 April 2018
De Montfort University, MRC Harwell Institute, Queen Mary University London, University of East Anglia, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

Second round of signatories – backed 28th September 2017
University of Aberdeen, Anglia Ruskin University, University College Birmingham, University of Bradford, University of Chester, University for the Creative Arts, University of Edinburgh, Francis Crick Institute, University of Glasgow, Harper Adams University, University of Kent, University of Leeds, University of Lincoln, University of Liverpool, Liverpool John Moore University, Manchester Metropolitan University, Nottingham Trent University, Oxford Brookes University, Royal Holloway  University of London, University of Salford, University of St Andrews, University of Stirling, The Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Winchester, Writtle University College

Founding signatories – backed 31st May 2017
Aston University, University of Birmingham, University of Bristol, University of Cambridge, Canterbury Christ Church University, Cardiff University, University of Central Lancashire, Cranfield University, University of Essex, University of Exeter, University of Hertfordshire, Imperial College London, Institute of Cancer Research (London), James Hutton Institute, John Innes Centre, Keele University, King’s College London, Lancaster University, University of Leicester, London South Bank University, Loughborough University, Newcastle University, University of Nottingham, University of Manchester, Open University, University of Oxford, Plymouth University, University of Reading, University of Sheffield, University of Strathclyde, University of Surrey, Queen’s University Belfast, University of Warwick, University College London, University of the West of England, University of York

Technician Commitment Steering Group Members
Advance HE, BCS, Gatsby Charitable Foundation, Kings College London (technical representative), MRC, Office for Students, Science Council, UKRI, Vitae and Wellcome Trust.