Saravana Ramasamy elected as EMBO Young Investigator

 1 December 2020   Grants and awards

Dr Saravana Ramasamy has been elected as a European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO) Young Investigator in recognition of his scientific excellence. 

Saravana leads the Integrative Skeletal Physiology group at the MRC LMS, and is one of 30 life sciences researchers selected as EMBO Young Investigators this year. Saravana and his group are interested in exploring the novel functions of blood vessels during development and ageing.

The EMBO Young Investigator Programme supports life scientists who have been group leaders for less than four years and have an excellent track record of scientific achievements. Saravana joins an existing network of 73 current and 384 former members of the programme.

Maria Lepton, EMBO Director, spoke of this year’s awards:

“We are delighted to welcome the new Young Investigators to the EMBO community and look forward to support them in leading and further developing their independent laboratories. These 30 life scientists have demonstrated scientific excellence and are among the next generation of leading life scientists. Their participation in the EMBO Young Investigator Programme will help them in this critical phase of their careers.”

Saravana Ramasamy reflected on his award:

“The EMBO young investigator award recognises the research excellence of my team and provides remarkable training, networking, and collaborative opportunities which will be beneficial in taking our research to the next level. For me, it is a great honour to receive this award and be part of this scientific community.”

EMBO is an organisation of more than 1,800 leading researchers that promotes excellence in the life sciences in Europe and beyond. The major goals of the organization are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a research environment where scientists can achieve their best work. 

The 2020 group of EMBO Young Investors comprises scientists based in 11 countries. A full list is below:

EMBO Young Investigator Research interest Affiliation Location
Alejo Efeyan Interplay of nutrients, hormones and human disease Spanish National Cancer Research Center (CNIO) Madrid, ES

Andela Saric

Computational biological and soft matter physics University College London London, UK
Antoine- Emmanuel Saliba Single-cell analysis of bacterial infection  

Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based Infection Research (HIRI)

Würzburg, DE
Benjamin D. Engel Interplay between organelle form and function  

Helmholtz Zentrum München

Neuherberg, DE
Björn Burmann Structural and dynamical adaptions of protein machines University of Gothenburg Gothenburg, SE
Camilo Perez Molecular mechanism of cell wall membrane proteins  

Biozentrum, University of Basel

Basel, CH
Christoph Zechner Signal processing and heterogeneity in biological systems Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Dresden, DE
Debojyoti Chakraborty RNA signatures in cell- fate decisions  

CSIR-Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology

New Delhi, IN
Elodie Segura Biology of human antigen-presenting cells  

Institut Curie

Paris, FR
Guoliang Cui T-cell metabolism German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) Heidelberg, DE
Hansong Ma Genetics of mitochondrial DNA in evolution and disease Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK
Ines Anna Drinnenberg Evolution of centromeres and chromosome segregation Institut Curie Paris, FR
Julia Santiago Plant signaling mechanisms  

University of Lausanne

Lausanne, CH
Julian Stingele Maintenance of genome stability Ludwig- Maximilians- Universität Munich, DE
Julien Duxin Mechanisms of DNA repair and DNA replication  

University of Copenhagen

Copenhagen, DK
Leila Akkari Macrophages in cancer Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI) Amsterdam, NL
Luca Tiberi Regulation of neural stem cell and neuron biology in brain disorders and cancer University of Trento Trento, IT

Marc Güell

Translational synthetic biology Pompeu Fabra University (UPF) Barcelona, ES
Maria Robles Temporal dynamics of proteins  

Ludwig- Maximilians- Universität

Munich, DE
Martijn Luijsterburg Transcription and DNA repair  

Leiden University Medical Centre

Leiden, NL
Mina Gouti Stem cell modeling of development and disease Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine Berlin, DE
Nicholas M. I. Taylor Mechanism and regulation of transport across the membrane  

University of Copenhagen

Copenhagen, DK
Nicholas McGranahan Cancer genome evolution  

University College London

London, UK
Nuria Montserrat Pluripotency for organ regeneration Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC) Barcelona, ES
Sam Behjati Developmental origins of cancer  

Wellcome Sanger Institute

Hinxton, UK
Saravana Ramasamy Integrative Skeletal Physiology  

Imperial College London

London, UK
Simon Bekker- Jensen Molecular details of cellular stress responses University of Copenhagen Copenhagen, DK
T anmay Bharat Structural cell biology of bacterial biofilm formation  

University of Oxford

Oxford, UK
Verena Ruprecht Cell and tissue dynamics  

Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG)

Barcelona, ES
Yen-Ping Hsueh Molecular interactions between C.elegans and nematode-trapping fungi  

Academia Sinica

Taipei, TW